Overcoming Developer's Imposter Syndrome

Overcoming Developer's Imposter Syndrome

ยท

4 min read

I started my journey into software engineering late last year with some personal trainings, and then once the lockdown eased I decided to enrol in a bootcamp for a more structured form of learning and oh did i expect what I was about to experience?, hell no!

tenor.gif

I had always known that software engineering was a tasking hill but the major challenge when I started wasn't even the code exactly but the emotional roller coaster I was experiencing newly. I realised I was constantly doubting myself, second guessing every move and generally feeling this path wasn't mine to follow. How then did I overcome this feeling or better yet did I ever overcome these feelings?๐Ÿ˜… Read along Phew, there are some steps I took and would be sharing with you but first, I need you to understand that the very best of us experience imposter syndrome at one moment or the other but how we handle this feeling, is what sets the momentum of what follows.

1. Recognise what you feel:

we humans tend to cover our truest feeling so as to look good before people who in reality don't even notice us. The most important person in your life is you. I had to dig down and analyse what i was feeling and then thankfully after a lot of researching, I realised I was suffering from imposter syndrome. imposter.png And although i can be introverted, I had always considered myself to be confident yet, here I was doubting everything in tech that I was learning and the journey in general. Thinking back now I can hear my coach Charlotte Morgan's voice saying "Trust the process".

2. Self criticism:

Self criticism, can be seen in a positive light and of course the negative light. To be self critical could mean to be self aware and constantly evaluating oneself for growth in areas that needs to be developed, however when this process lead to self-deprecation there is a huge problem. Self-deprecation is the act of putting oneself down, sometimes in an attempt to be humorous, but oftentimes out of a place of doubt and insecurity.

Ven_diagram-1024x526.png There is a need for the balance, of both self-criticism and growth. Self criticism with a goal for growth is a mindset of every successful person out there. So although I was self-evaluating I had to channel the process towards growth.

3. You are not alone:

One major reason I started this blog is to also put my experience out there for anyone else who need to relate and get help. In my short research when I was experiencing imposter syndrome, I read about how other people had felt similar way and how they were able to overcome it. ab6ed27c78986aebc758ddd9f724ec7aac933cb2.jpeg The fact that I wasn't alone in the merge gave me hope to continue to { React } ( ๐Ÿ˜‰ pun intended).

4. Self Affirmation:

I started to write to myself, speak to myself and recount on all the positivities I had and most especially recount on all the experiences and sacrifices that had brought me to this point and no, I wasn't going to waste all that, so I brought in the energy of those who have paved the way for me and my own energy and imposter syndrome started trembling ๐Ÿ˜… and had no place in my feelings any more.

5. Document your technical journey:

I document my technical journey so as to recognise the places I needed to put in more work and most especially reward my self for the growth. technical-documentation-post-header1.jpeg So document your journey either through writing, pictures, videos, talk with someone, whatever works for you just document it.

6. Get Inspiration:

There are so many developers all over the world who share their journey across social media, search through the community, listen to thought leader in your field and you'd start to feel better and more confident of who you are becoming. Remember โ€œA Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Stepโ€, so keep taking that one step and the next and the next. 28-Inspirational-Quotes-to-Get-You-Through-the-Morning.jpeg

7. Consistency:

As a someone on a journey, you need to keep building, keep trying out that new thing and keep making those mistakes till you get it, everybody goes through that phase so own it proudly, that is the mindset of a winner.

8. Comparison:

Lastly stop comparing your progress to everybody's, you are uniquely you and you should strive to be better than you were, set realistic goals, smash them, fail, get up and win again.

tenor (1).gif

I hope relating my experience has been helpful to you, also if you have ever experienced imposter syndrome let me know your journey, challenges and were you currently are in the comments. Stay winning, you got this! Cheers๐ŸŽ‰

ย